The Alchemist.

About a year ago I wasn’t a big fan of reading books because they couldn’t keep my attention. But at the beginning of this year I went through a rough patch in life. I lost my job, my grandmother passed away, and my relationship ended with my girlfriend. I was down for awhile in a bad place. I had a lot of free time on my hands so I figured I would try to get into reading books. During a Will Smith interview he mentions a book, The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. I admire Will Smith so I figure I’ll give the book a try. It changed my life. For those who haven’t read it it is about a young shepherd who goes on a journey to discover the meaning of the visions he has been having. But the message in the story is what helps me in life. It details the importance of the journey being just as important as the destination. We all have goals in life that we want to accomplish. But we usually want to hurry up and get to the result instead of admiring and appreciating the process. The destination is very important but we tend to not realize how important the journey was and the lessons we learned along the way. We should appreciate and learn from the bad moments along the path towards our goals. There are going to be what we think are bad periods or bumps in the path but once we get through it there are great things coming. We won’t realize it during those periods but if we can keep that thought tucked in our brain it can keep the drive going. Thank you.

One thought on “The Alchemist.

Leave a Reply

