P.S.A

It’s been a couple of weeks since I last posted on here but I haven’t had that feeling to get something off my chest recently. I’ve been sitting back, observing and learning. I don’t write when I don’t have the feeling that something needs to be said. But as I’ve been quiet recently I’ve come to the realization that fake is winning in our society right now. Anything popular and mainstream is most likely fake and being praised as if it is real. From the women to the music to the celebrities people worship. I don’t know if it was always like this because I’ve only seen how my generation reacts and responds to situations but it doesn’t seem like it when I look back through history.

There was and still is intelligent, beautiful, hardworking women in our society but we only seem to praise women based solely on what they look like. And most of the women have had numerous surgeries to meet the social standards of beauty. Females in my generation mostly look up to women because of their physical appearance and sexual persona. I can say some of the blame can be put on us males because we have a tendency to give more attention to the women who tend to physically expose themselves more than the average woman. We have set the standard low for women and they are meeting our socially accepted standards. It’s a 50:50 split on the blame of what we accept for women.

I don’t know how many people that read this listen to hip-hop or even care about it but recently there was a “beef” between rappers Meek Mill and Drake. This is the moment I knew that fake was winning in our society. For the fans of hip-hop they know that the music is all about authenticity and the connection the listener has with the artist. Now Meek Mill goes on Twitter and says “Don’t compare me to Drake because he don’t write his own stuff”. Now the first thing I think is that Drake is going to take a lot of heat for this and lose some credibility in the hip-hop world. However the complete opposite happened people defended Drake and made it seem as if it didn’t matter. I don’t want to explain the entire situation again because I’m tired of talking about and thinking about it but that really did it for me.

I have faith that being real and actually caring about authenticity will come back around one day and we will raise the standards for what can be considered great in our society. Until then I just have to deal with the fake stuff and surround myself with all real and positive things. Thank you.

Leave a comment